The out of mind experience

After 6 hours of continuous class work I got into our maroon alto and headed back home.

Winter was making its presence felt for quite a few days now and today’s afternoon sunlight came as a belated  gift from Santa. I made myself comfortable, asked our driver to play soft music and got drenched in the warm sunlight. The enriching dose of vitamin-D pampered me and slowly put me to sleep.

An unnoticed speed breaker woke me up and left me complaining about the roads in Hyderabad, the municipal corporation, political leaders and corruption. My concerned thoughts about the future of our country were interrupted. Preceding our car was another maroon alto, just like ours. How popular my choice is, I thought to myself. Sub-consciously I looked at the number plate, 1694, it said. I re-read it. I rubbed my eyes, sat up straight and read each alphabet and number again. That’s mine! I shouted. My driver didn’t turn back. He behaved like he didn’t hear me. I looked into the duplicate alto. I could see someone sitting in the passenger seat. It was a girl. Her hair was tied up in a ponytail with tictacs on either side. I touched my hair to find exactly the same tictacs.

The experience of a lot of books and movies convinced me that I was dead. Wait! Then why is my other body alive? I have to see myself dead to be dead, I told myself. (logical reasoning for CAT helped me somewhere at least) So if I wasn’t dead, what was happening? Was I having an astral projection? This thought excited me. I looked around myself to find a few more fellow ‘travelers’. There weren’t any. Then I had to accept the dull and monotonous fact that it was a dream. I didn’t want to live an unexciting dream in which I wasn’t an astral projector or at least dead. I wanted to wake up. Shutting my eyes in my dream, I tried ending it.

An unnoticed speed breaker woke me up and left me complaining about the roads in Hyderabad, the municipal corporation, political leaders and corruption. My concerned thoughts about the future of our country were interrupted. Preceding our car was another maroon alto, just like ours. How popular my choice is, I thought to myself……

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

