Whom are you wearing?

The first time I heard this, on TV, I was amused. How can you be ‘wearing’ someone? Yeah, designer wear!
Everyone of us would want to wear something elite, classy and designer, atleast once. I’m not just talking about women, men too are crazy about it, they call it ‘branded stuff’.

Well it doesn’t end there. People are judged based on the brands they wear. “Oh! You bought this in an exhibition? Urgh! My stuff is custom made.” There are more chances of finding something exactly like it than the one from the exhibition. A person wearing plain T-shit with a high class brand name/symbol etched across it is considered to have a better dressing sense than the wearing a better looking low-class/no-brand T-shit/top.

If designer/branded stuff isn’t nice to look at (like the plain Tees), what is it that the buyers want? “Branded stuff stays longer”, someone said. Would they wear the same Tee for 5 years? Obviously not. They wouldn’t wear it again because they have that picture of theirs on facebook in which they are already wearing it. Repeat it again? No way!

Then what’s the fuss about? Why pay thrice the amount for something that’s not worth it. I fail to understand.
Before you ask me I’ll confess. I too like wearing branded stuff. 😀 But I woudn’t pay 1000 rupees for something worth Rs.199/- only. I too dream of wearing that one fairy-tale like dress that no one in this world would have. But, custom made for me would mean, something I’d be comfortable wearing and something that’d make me look my best at the same time. Be it from that designer store or from the tailor at the end of the street.

Branded clothes don’t make you a better person and fetch you better friends. You will be talked about, TILL someone wears something better. The sooner one realizes this, the better it will be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Whom are you wearing?

  1. Divya says:

    I wear brands too but I firmly believe that you should not simply buy something looking at its designer label..Sometimes stuff on the road is nicer 🙂 🙂
    And living in Bombay, there are places where you get such awesome copies of designer-stuff that rarely can one distinguish between the original and the fake….As long as you are comfortable in what you are wearing, nothing else really matters!

  2. I pity such people who wear brands just for the heck of it, they could be doing better things with that money. In Delhi too, I buy mostly from non-brands and the clothes are awesome there. by the way, thanks for dropping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

