Saying Goodbye

Dear Thatha,

I know you are with us and in a very peaceful state of mind, relieved off the pain. But the emptiness persists. Every time I look at myself in the mirror, I can’t help to not notice my striking resemblance with you. You have no idea how many people told me the same, or may be you do. Except for the lips, I look exactly like you. As I grew older, the resemblance seemed more prominent, right?

Not just looks, I love using anything new as soon as possible, like you. You know that right? Hehe. Clothes, pens, books, everything.

We know cleaning up your room is something you wouldn’t appreciate, but all your stuff is safe. I couldn’t help noticing the way you jotted down everything in your diary. At 84, that kind of memory is awesome. Not just memory, looking at the way you had your accounts written, I was shocked. Dad did tell me about the immense patience you had, but I never thought it was in such huge amounts.

Also, the wonderful pain bearing capacity you had! Wow! I wish I had got that quality too from you. I am a coward when it comes to health related stuff. 5 1/2 years back, when you came back from the hospital, I remember how you were ready to drive a car (or was it an airplane? 😛 )  even though your body didn’t physically support you.

You know what, two days back when they brought chart papers for something, I was reminded of that Saturday afternoon in Class 7 when you brought me chart papers and helped me draw lines on the chart. And yes, it was with the endless stationery supply from your room. 😛

Every time I try to picture you, your radiant smile is what comes to my mind first. I’m sure that’s how you are right now, on a new journey, packed and excited and super happy. We will miss you. Rest in peace.

Love,
Sindhu. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saying Goodbye

  1. Anonymous says:

    memories will always remain with u!! 🙂
    jyothi

  2. nightlamps says:

    A really well written in remembrance of your grand pa.

  3. SWATHIS says:

    RIP

Leave a Reply

